After controversy of Cambridge Analytica data mining of 87 million Facebook users, there are lots of question rising against Facebook about is privacy and even some people started deleting their Facebook account.Facebook has announced some steps to prevent future data breaches and now Facebook brings those changes that makes easier for users to manage their private data by themselves.
Today I have received a notification in my Facebook account regarding my personal data accessed my apps and websites.The notification was titled “Protecting Your Information” says ‘we understand the importance of keeping your data safe and we are aiming it easier for you to control which apps you share information with’ and further they described how we can manage the access of apps and websites we have logged in with our Facebook account.
How to remove data access of apps and websites from Facebook account
To manage data access of your Fcebook account first go to settings >> account settings >> apps, inside apps section there are three option named as ‘Logged in with Facebook’, ‘Apps websites and games’, ‘Games and apps notification’.
First option ‘Logged in with Facebook’ is the main option.It show all the apps,websites and games you have logged in with your Facebook account.When you click on this option it shows three columns ‘active’, ‘expired’ and ‘removed’.
Active section shows how many apps,games and website are active in which you have logged in with your account.Expired section shows how many apps,games and websites data access have been expired from your account.If you want to remove access of any apps,games or websites you can select them and click on remove, their access will be removed and shift in remove section.
If you want to see what kind of data these apps are using, just click of the app you want and it will show the list of data they are accessing and you can also manage this data selecting and deselecting after that click on save button and in my case most of the apps are accessing my public profile, friend list and my Facebook email.If you remove any app then it will ask to delete all your post related to that app.
Second option ‘apps,websites and games’ this option will completely turn off the ability to log in to any apps,games or website using Facebook and if you turned on this feature it will automatically delete all the post,images,videos and your games activity and you won’t be able to play games on Facebook.You can’t share any thing from apps or website to Facebook.
I don’t think that anyone will turn on this, what would you think? Share your thoughts in comment section.
Third option Games and Apps notifications controls game requests from friends and game status update, and apps notification from app developers on facebook and gameroom and changing this setting will not effect your ability to use apps and play games.
I think that this will help all of us to stay in Facebook and hoping for not haering that bad news again, Facebook very soon launch unsend message feature for its messange just like WhatsApp.